1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Paper masking instead of plastic sheeting.

Discussion in 'Caring for the Environment' started by mistcoat, Jul 2, 2020.

1. mistcoat

mistcoat Colour Changing Cowboy Staff Member PPS Painter Bar Member

Seeing a post made by Tomcio over in the Masking Tips thread where he said...

There could be less use of plastic use from us or, a biodegradable plastic made which would be good for the environment as per the above quote about paper.
    But I was thinking today about the post above.

The paper or a biodegradable plastic may be earth friendly, but what about the paint that is laced all over the paper?
    That may not be good for the environment as it begins the breakdown process. So is paper a good thing after all?

I'm no expert. But it got me thinking. What do you all reckon?

2. Colour Republic

Colour Republic PPS Master Craftsman Bar Member

Was it the environmental aspect he meant? or the fact paint doesn't flake off paper like it does plastic?
    Opps, missed the 'earth friendly' bit off the end of the post.

3. Wayners

Wayners I Taut I Taw A Puddy Tat Bar Member

Some of the plastic floor protection is said to be recyclable but I've never worked out how.

Tomcio likes this.
  4. ahenrypd

ahenrypd PPS Master Craftsman Bar Member

I assume it can at least be recycled. All my xboard and paper go into those bins at the tip.

Tomcio likes this.
  5. Tomcio

Tomcio Brush Navigator Bar Member

Yes paper is better than plastic--allways.
    Yes most of the paints are bad for the environment wet or dry.

With the current state of the poor Earth we should use milk, lime, yolks, clay and sodium silicate only to be honest.

greenbank, Bobbones and White Pele like this.
  6. greenpainting

greenpainting Jolly Green Giant Bar Member